Children in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) learn by playing, exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.   In the EYFS classes at Felmore Primary School we aim to provide a broad, balanced and differentiated curriculum. We believe that play, both indoors and outdoors, is the fundamental way in which young children learn. Throughout the EYFS we plan activities to give children learning experiences and opportunities to work towards the Early Learning Goals and prepare them for the National Curriculum.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development

The curriculum is split into 3 prime areas, these are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s development and future learning.

The prime areas will help children to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Within these areas children will participate in a variety of activities, both with an adult and independently.